“Money can’t buy back your youth when you’re old / A friend when you’re lonely, or peace to your soul…”

“Satisfied Mind”

Songwriters: Jack Rhodes, Red Hayes
Interpreter: Jeff Buckley
Album: Sketches From My Sweetheart The Drunk (1998)
* * * * *

How many times have you heard someone say
“If I had money, I would do things my way”?
But little they know, that it’s so hard to find
One rich man in ten with a satisfied mind.

Money can’t buy back your youth when you’re old,
A friend when you’re lonely, or peace to your soul.
The wealthiest person is a pauper at times
Compared to the man with a satisfied mind.

My life is over and my time has run out,
My friends and my loved ones, i’ll leave these no doubt.
One things for certain, when it comes my time
I’ll leave this old world with a satisfied mind.

JeffBuckley222

2 thoughts on ““Money can’t buy back your youth when you’re old / A friend when you’re lonely, or peace to your soul…”

  1. Saw a guy named Marshall Ruffin do this song a couple weeks ago. It was pretty awesome, he has a little bit bluesier and raspier voice than Jeff’s. It felt faintly familiar and I have been searching for it since, had no idea Jeff Buckley also did a version of it.

    Like

    • Yeah, this is an amazing song, I’ll look for Marshall Ruffin’s music to hear how he sounds! If I’m not mistaken, Jeff Buckley’s version was released after his death, in his posthumous “Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk”.

      Like

Leave a Reply

