Lennon: “Gimme Some Truth!”

John Lennon (1940 - 1980) and Yoko Ono pose on the steps of the Apple building in London, holding one of the posters that they distributed to the world's major cities as part of a peace campaign protesting against the Vietnam War. 'War Is Over, If You Want It'.   (Photo by Frank Barratt/Getty Images)

John Lennon (1940 – 1980) and Yoko Ono pose on the steps of the Apple building in London, holding one of the posters that they distributed to the world’s major cities as part of a peace campaign protesting against the Vietnam War. ‘War Is Over, If You Want It’. (Photo by Frank Barratt/Getty Images)

“I’m sick and tired of hearing things
From uptight, short-sighted, narrow-minded hypocritics.
All I want is the truth
Just gimme some truth!

I’ve had enough of reading things
By neurotic, psychotic, pig-headed politicians.
All I want is the truth
Just gimme some truth!

No short-haired, yellow-bellied, son of tricky dicky
Is gonna mother hubbard soft soap me
With just a pocketful of hope
Money for dope
Money for rope.

I’m sick to death of seeing things
From tight-lipped, condescending, mama’s little chauvinists.
All I want is the truth
Just gimme some truth now!

I’ve had enough of watching scenes
Of schizophrenic, ego-centric, paranoiac, prima-donnas.
All I want is the truth now
Just gimme some truth!

All I want is the truth
Just gimme some truth!”

Leave a Reply

